Meet the CR Cast: FRANK DESLAURIERS

My name is Frank Deslauriers and I play Paul Davenport in the upcoming film “Christmas Ride”.

Frank Deslauriers plays Paul Davenport in CHRISTMAS RIDE

Frank Deslauriers plays Paul Davenport in CHRISTMAS RIDE

My character seems to represent how life goes on and a new beginning for characters who have suffered tragedies in their life with dignity and reverence.  I learned from this film the power of forgiveness and  all things happen to us or a reason and that God puts challenges before us not as a punishment but as obstacles to be overcome and learn from.

This is my first film although I have acted in a number of plays at the Ruffin Theater in Covington, Tennessee including Romeo and Juliet, The Hobbit and the upcoming You Can’t Take it With You.  I was able to get the part of Paul Davenport in Christmas Ride by luck and circumstance.  My son and I went to be extras in the wedding scene and the next thing I know I was asked to play Paul.  Obviously I jumped at the chance and thoroughly enjoyed it.  It was quite different from stage acting.  Film acting seems to require much more nuance in a role since there are more closeups and takes than stage acting.  One scene can takes hours to film which allows for obtaining the best shot.  On stage there are no directors saying “cut, let’s do it again”.  There are no “do overs” on stage.  My “day job” is as a trial attorney and I have found that acting and trial work are very similar.  To be successful both require credibility and belief in what you are doing.  It also doesn’t hurt to be a bit of a ham.
I have not been acting long but it has become a passion and I plan to continue doing it as long as I can be wheeled on stage or in front of a camera.  I consider Tom Hanks to be my favorite actor due to his versatility and everyman quality.  If I have a favorite film it would probably be Forrest Gump.  I also enjoyed Saving Private Ryan, probably because my life long hero, my father, was a career soldier who fought and was decorated for his service to his country.   Because of his military career I lived everywhere growing up including Germany for about half my childhood.  I have always felt that people who are always the new kid either become very shy or very outgoing as a way to fit in.  Obviously, I chose the outgoing path.   Acting is the perfect outlet for this.
Finally, I would like to thank Karen Francis for her guidance, patience and kindness during this production.
This series of articles  is for distribution, reproduction, sharing through social media.  More about the film CHRISTMAS  RIDE may be found on www.facebook.com/ChristmasRide , pinterest.com, artprofilms.weebly.com  For further information about Frank, he may be contacted at his law firm  901-476-5356.
Leave a Reply

